Home / Venice attractions / The six Venice’s Sestieri
The six Venice's Sestieri
The six Venice's Sestieri

The six Venice’s Sestieri

Venice has six Sestieri (Venetian name given to its districts) which constitute the old city centre.

Cannaregio: the most populated sestiere. There is the Jewish Ghetto, the small area in which Jews were confined;

Castello: the largest Venetian sestiere. It’s in eastern Venice and includes the Arsenal;

Dorsoduro: it’s one of the most comfortable areas of Venice. The name (italian for “hard ridge”) is due to the fact that it was the only part of the city characterizes by a stable and less swampy land.
San Marco: the most famous sestiere, due to the homonym square and basilica;

San Polo: takes its name from the homonym church; it’s linked to San Marco by the well-known Rialto bridge

Santa Croce: the road bridge Ponte della Libertà links this sestiere to the mainland, so Santa Croce is the only sestiere where car circulation is partially allowed.

The house numbering system of Venice is a particular one: the numbers don’t begin and end in every street, but they continue throughout the whole sestiere. This implies addresses with very high numbers, where the name of the street may even be omitted – just the name of the sestiere and the building number is usually provided –, so be careful when you’re looking for your hotel or any other kind of building!

Venice map including Dorsoduro district
Venice map including Dorsoduro district

Check Also

St. Mark’s Square

St. Mark’s Square The Basilica of San Marco overlooks one of the most beautiful squares …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ten + 15 =